Don Freund


Don Freund has composed over 80 performed works, ranging from solo, chamber, and orchestral music to pieces involving live performance with electronic instruments, music for dance and large theatre works; he is also active as a pianist, conductor, and lecturer. He has received two grants from the National Endowment for the Arts (Cello Concerto; Passion with Tropes), commissions including the Tennessee Arts Commission with Opera Memphis (Opera: The Bishop's Ghost), and prizes including the Washington International String Quartet Composition Competition, the International Society for Contemporary Music/League of Composers International Piano Music Competition, the AGO/ECS Publishing Award in Choral Composition (God's Grandeur), the 1997 Rodrigo Riera International Competition for Guitar Composition (Stirrings), the Hanson Prize, the McCurdy Award, the Aspen Prize, 22 ASCAP Awards, and a Macgeorge Fellowship from the University of Melbourne, Australia. His works are published by MMB Music, Boosey and Hawkes, ECS, Seesaw, and Vivace Press.

Don Freund was born in Pittsburgh in 1947; he studied at Duquesne University (BM '69), and earned his graduate degrees at the Eastman School of Music (MM'70, DMA'72). His composition teachers were Joseph Willcox Jenkins, Darius Milhaud, Charles Jones, Wayne Barlow, Warren Benson, and Samuel Adler. From 1972 to 1992 he was chairman of the Composition Department at Memphis State University. He is Professor of Composition at the Indiana University School of Music since 1992. In 1998 he was composer-in-residence at the Australian National Academy of Music, and lectured on his music at Royal Conservatories in Brussels and the Hague, the Royal Academy of Music in London, the Prague Conservatory and the Hochschule in Vienna.

Interprètes Performers


Programme / Program

5 juillet
6 juillet
7 juillet
8 juillet
9 juillet
July 5
July 6
July 7
July 8
July 9
Webmaster: Bernard Savoie b.savoie@videotron