Henriques/Hodges Duo


Richard Hodges


Donald Henriques

(guitare - guitar)

Duo Henriques/Hodges ont choisi d'interpréter:
Henriques/Hodges Duo have chosen to perform:
Donald Henriques

Fantasia Flamenca

  1. Invocation
  2. Serenata-Alma de Gitano
  3. Danza

[saxophone soprano et guitare / soprano saxophone and guitar]

Richard Hodges, classical saxophonist, has appeared as soloist in Europe and throughout the United States. While specializing in the music of contemporary French composers, he has also premiered works by composers from the United States and Japan.

In 1991, Mr. Hodges joined forces with guitarist Donald Henriques to form the Henriques/Hodges Duo. This critically acclaimed ensemble performs the music of Spain and Latin America.

A graduate of Wichita State University (Kansas), Mr. Hodges holds a Master's degree from the University of Mississippi and has completed additional graduate work at Indiana and Columbia Universities. He has served on the faculties of Indiana University, Columbia University, and the University of Mississippi, and has presented master classes in college and universitiés throughout the United States. In February 1999, Mr. Hodges presented his debut concert in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall in New York City. Currently Mr. Hodges conducts the wind ensemble of the Greater Princeton Youth Orchestra and maintains a private studio of saxophone and clarinet students in Plainsboro, New Jersey.

Guitarist/composer Donald Henriques, a finalist in the Tokyo International Guitar competition, has performed as soloist throughout the United States. An award from the Spanish government provided for study at the renowned Música en Compostela with guitar pedagogue Jose Tomás. Mr. Henriques' studies in composition at Indiana University were guided by Chilean composer Juan Orrego-Salas. He has participated in composition workshops with Leonard Bernstein, Earle Brown and Norton Subotnick. Among his compositions are Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra (written for Mr.Hodges), Three Love Poems for voice, string quartet and guitar, and Quintense for piano quintet which was performed at the 50th anniversary celebration of the California Music Library Association in Los Angeles. Mr. Henriques is currently a member of the faculty of Humboldt State University in Arcata, California, where he directs the Mariachi de Humboldt which specializes in the performance of traditional Mexican folk music, and where he received a 1998 Award for Excellence & Innovation in Teaching.

Interprètes Performers


Programme / Program

5 juillet
6 juillet
7 juillet
8 juillet
9 juillet
July 5
July 6
July 7
July 8
July 9
Webmaster: Bernard Savoie b.savoie@videotron